SHopkins’ Languages Blog

Miss Hopkins’ students’ one-stop-shop

Languages Conference at Comberton Village College

On Friday I was presenting a session on New Technologies in Languages teaching at the Languages Conference at Comberton. All the delegates (and presenters!!!) arrived pretty frazzled as the M11 had been closed and most people were stuck on congested alternative routes! I had been ignoring the GPS’ instructions (as you do) to go down impossibly narrow country lanes but when the A road towards Haverhill got busy too I decided I had nothing to lose. And bless her, she showed me some beautiful Essex/ Suffolk/ Cambridgeshire villages (who knows where there were…??!) and got me there on time.

I was really pleased with the session anyway, and was then free to enjoy the rest of the day. And I must admit that this was one of the most refreshing and relaxed, warm and friendly conferences I have ever attended. Rachel Hawkes set the day up perfectly by saying it was “by teachers, for teachers” and in a real setting where we would no doubt bump into “real kids” too, or words to that effect! The facilites were great and the other sessions I attended were very professionally done and, most importantly, inspiring.

I think everyone felt it was a day very well spent, and we were very happy to leave with so many new ideas and resources, even some fab new contacts. Congratulations and many thanks to Rachel and her team for looking after us so well.

If you are one of the delegates who attended my session, you will find all the resources on the “IT training” page of this blog. Any probs, just let me know.

July 9, 2007 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. Dear Miss Hopkins,

    I read your blog with interest since I am a supplier of Language lab equipment constantly struggling to “cross from the darkside” and understand more thoroughly what teachers need from our range of language lab solutions rather than just “flogging stuff” . In order to facilitate this I am running my first MFL event at Gravesend Grammar School for girls on the 21st of May geared around ICT in MFL with other suppliers and will try to make the event as relaxed and friendly as I can make it.I am really looking to learn as much as I inform. The difficulty I face is that the only time I get to meet with MFL teachers is when I am demonstrating (like most suppliers I guess)or training and this leaves me convinced that our products have value but frustrated to know how best to develop them, how to offer information on them in a friendly way and what added value to offer apart from unlimited training. Any advice welcome.

    Comment by Peter Provins | March 30, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

